Membrane Proteins in Health and Disease CSMB 2018 Conference

Wednesday, April 11, 2018 - 9:00am to Sunday, April 15, 2018 - 5:00pm
Banff Centre, Alberta

The 61st Annual Meeting of the Canadian Society for Molecular Biosciences (CSMB) will be held Wednesday, April 11, 2018 to Sunday, April 15, 2018 at The Banff Centre located in the beautiful mountain setting of Banff, Alberta, Canada. The organizing committee has worked hard to put together a fantastic meeting and we hope members of your laboratory will be able to participate.

Membrane Proteins in Health and Disease

The meeting is focused on “Membrane Proteins in Health and Disease”, and has been held every 4 years since 1986! In April 2018, we are excited to share that the meeting will feature sessions on Membrane Structural Biology, Membrane Protein Biogenesis and Folding, Molecular Events in the Membrane Transport Physiology, Ion Transport and pH Regulation, Membrane Embedded Enzymes, and Membrane Proteins as Therapeutic Targets. 

Satellite meetings will also be held on April 10, 2018 with the topics of “The Membrane roteome of pH Homeostasis” and ”Overcoming Obstacles in Membrane Protein Structure and Function”  ( 

There will also be poster sessions and 12 presentations selected from the submitted abstracts. Prizes will be given for the best posters. This meeting has traditionally attracted an informed group of ~250 participants interested in membrane protein structure, function and biosynthesis. It is a very popular meeting, which is limited to 250 participants, so register early! (


Our preliminary list of confirmed speakers includes:

Dr. Poul Nissen, Aarhus University                      Dr. Susan Cole, Queen’s University

Dr. Gaia Novarino, IST Austria                           Dr. Anika Hartz, University of Kentucky

Dr. Rajini Rao, John Hopkins Medical                   Dr. Terry Hébert, McGill University

Dr. John Rubinstein, Hospital for Sick Children    Dr. Christopher Koth, Genentech

Dr. Leonid Sazanov, IST Aus                              Dr. Nina Jones, University of Guelph

Dr. David Stokes, NY                                         Dr. Harley Kurata, University of Alberta

                                                                            Dr. Joanne Lemieux, University of Alberta

Dr. Isabelle Baconguis, Vollum Institute             Dr. Ellen Lumpkin, Columbia University

Dr. Derek Bowie, McGill University                      Dr. Trevor Moraes, University of Toront

Dr. Chris Brett, Concordia University                   Dr. Bruce Morgan, University of Kaiserslautern

Dr. Joseph Casey, University of Alberta               Dr. Jan Rainey, Dalhousie University

Dr. Barbara Niemeyer, Saarland University         Dr. Mark Parker, University of Buffalo

Dr. Tuan Trang, University of Calgary                  Dr. Lisa Munter, McGill University

Dr. Martin Van der Laan, Saarland University     Dr. Janos Peti-Peterdi, University of Southern                         California


Banff Conference centre

The Banff Centre is located in Banff National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site.  The spectacular beauty of the Canadian Rockies surrounds the campus. A ten-minute stroll brings you to the bustling town of Banff.  Banff is 128 km (80 miles) west of Calgary, Alberta and is easily reached from Calgary airport by shuttle bus or rental car.

Banff National Park at this time of year has many attractions including spring skiing, hot springs, hiking, glacier viewing, abundance of wild-life, sight-seeing and shopping. Sessions will run each morning and evening, with afternoons free for mountain activities!!


A PDF version of the poster with the program to advertise the meeting is available at Feel free to upload it and to distribute widely.

Registration and Accommodations
Registrations and accommodations booking will open in November 2017:

Abstract Submission
The meeting will feature two poster sessions and abstracts can be submitted at:

Organizing Committee
Howard Young                         
Todd Alexander                       

Joe Casey                               
Xing-Zhen Chen                      
Emmanuelle Cordat                 
Larry Fliegel                            
Harley Kurata                         
Joanne Lemieux                      
Elaine Leslie                           
Michael Overdui                      
Nicolas Touret